partnerdanceonline.com
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
December 18, 2014, 02:17:21 AM

Login with username, password and session length
Search:     Advanced search
A lot of people are visiting Smiley Smiley
Undecided Undecided but not many are posting....
please say hi Cheesy
116526 Posts in 1858 Topics by 223 Members
Latest Member: dancewithmetoronto
* Home Help Search Calendar Login Register
+  partnerdanceonline.com
|-+  Partner Dancing
| |-+  Partner Dances
| | |-+  Ballroom dances - beginners, social and syllabus (Moderators: QPO, Rugby, cornutt, ZPomeroy)
| | | |-+  How to do the right kind of "rise" in slowfox
Pages: [1] 2 3 Print
Author Topic: How to do the right kind of "rise" in slowfox  (Read 3464 times)
dream a little dream
Silver

« on: April 23, 2009, 01:02:21 PM »

Okay, admittedly I am very new to SlowFox, but I struggle with this every time I do it.

I always want to rise from the knees when I do SlowFox...is this right?  I have been told that I should be doing "body rise" and not "knee rise" and certainly not "foot rise".  How can I dance SlowFox and not rise from the knees?
Anyone have any ideas or am I just way off base?

Don't forget to listen to the nightengale.
Some guy
Intermediate Silver

« Reply #1 on: April 23, 2009, 01:13:55 PM »

What a great topic!!!  I would love to hear more on this.  I know we have some experts and highly ranked dancers on here that can help. 

My two cents: just because it was taught to me as "walking to music", the same way our knees don't become the focus when walking, they get overly focussed on when dancing Foxtrot.  "Body rise"? ...still trying to understand that. 
QPO
Continental Champion

Adelaide South Australia

« Reply #2 on: April 24, 2009, 08:09:06 AM »

I believe and I hope that the Pros here will explain it better.. I believe it comes from the ankles and the stretching of the body that give the rise,n the man has a lot of contra body twist to keep his body in the direction of the feet.