partnerdanceonline.com
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
September 18, 2014, 07:47:12 PM

Login with username, password and session length
Search:     Advanced search
A lot of people are visiting Smiley Smiley
Undecided Undecided but not many are posting....
please say hi Cheesy
116447 Posts in 1855 Topics by 221 Members
Latest Member: EVE_Dance
* Home Help Search Calendar Login Register
+  partnerdanceonline.com
|-+  About us and Welcome
| |-+  Newcomers (Moderators: QPO, cornutt, Lioness, ZPomeroy)
| | |-+  Hi everyone!
Pages: [1] Print
Author Topic: Hi everyone!  (Read 757 times)
millitiz
Intermediate Bronze

« on: February 11, 2011, 11:13:53 PM »

Hi everyone!

I've been dancing ballroom for about 4 years from a College dance team. I dance mainly International Standard and Latin.

My current goal is to get done in Pre-champ for both Standard and Latin in three years. And hopefully by then, I could decide which dance to specialize (by the result, or possibly my body).

I think people would categorize me as a Standard person. Probably due to my personality and the fact that I was better in Standard.

I feel that Standard is closer to my brain, and Latin closer to my heart. I like Standard because of its structure, and the fact that, it could be learned as math, or science (Do A,B,C and D. And you can be a great dancer). For the first time, I felt that I was not as horrible in dancing, when I danced in Standard.

On the other hand, I had a love/hate relationship with Latin. I didn't quite get it - I just felt like an idiot when waving my arms. But later on, we change the approach to Latin, and the fact that I grunted my teeth to get through Latin, now I think I am in love withe the dance. I felt the dance to be very expressive, and powerful.