partnerdanceonline.com
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
November 27, 2014, 03:09:51 AM

Login with username, password and session length
Search:     Advanced search
A lot of people are visiting Smiley Smiley
Undecided Undecided but not many are posting....
please say hi Cheesy
116515 Posts in 1857 Topics by 223 Members
Latest Member: dancewithmetoronto
* Home Help Search Calendar Login Register
+  partnerdanceonline.com
|-+  Partner Dancing
| |-+  Partner Dances
| | |-+  General partner dance issues (Moderators: Rugby, cornutt)
| | | |-+  Blaming Your Dance Partner
Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 14 Print
Author Topic: Blaming Your Dance Partner  (Read 11298 times)
catsmeow
Bronze

« on: April 16, 2009, 10:19:26 PM »

My wonderful partner and I have been dancing competitively for nearly ten years now. We have won our share of competitions and have graduated to pre champ level in latin and standard. It has come at a cost: my patience for learning new technique no longer exists and  if unable to repeat a newly learned concept in practice I walk away in frustration leaving my partner almost in tears. Worst of all however is that I start blaming her for my own shortcomings. I can admit this openly although in the heat of a dance argument my male ego knows no bounds. To advance further I  have to work together as a team .I am the lead not the leader.
Are there others that have had a similar experience and can share some insight? 
QPO
reg mods
Continental Champion

Adelaide South Australia

« Reply #1 on: April 16, 2009, 10:37:19 PM »

Gosh, I see can my own dance partners behavior is identical to yours and I can tell you we have not danced that long. I think it is frustration that causes this and you are obviously a perfectionist type. (you can correct me if I am wrong)

I was hoping that after a period of time things might get better but perhaps not..